In 1867 the Church Of The Good Shepherd was opened in memorial to Sam Colt, Colt Firearms, and their three decease children by his wife Elizabeth. Today the church is on the Historic Registry and still serves the people of Hartford Connecticut.
The church building is close by to the original Colt factory building and Colt factory housing in downtown Hartford. It was designed by Edward Tucker Potter a well know architect at the time. Several others buildings designed by Potter are also on the National Historic Register.
The outside of the church includes small design elements that represent the Colt family and their famous firearms.
Inside the church is like a museum of incredible stained glass windows, hand carved wood, and high arch ceilings.
We were given the unique opportunity, and honor, of a photo shoot here. There really is no way to describe this beautiful building, but we have tried to show it through our photography.
In order to display the remarkable stained glass, long views of highly polished wood, and the awe-inspiring colors we shot in darkness using only the outside light filtered through the stained glass.
We were able to capture much of the beauty of this church and a series of 3 articles will be posted here.