Located on Church Street, Charleston, The congregation it serves traces its start to the 1680s. The church’s services still follow 18th century French liturgy, but are now conducted in English.
Like all of Charleston; this church was damaged in several fires, blown up once to stop a fire from spreading, the earth quake of 1886 didn’t help any, and of course there was a civil war in between all of this.
At one point there were no regular services, only special church events were held here. Finally the Huguenot congregation, as well as descendants of George and Martha Washington, Francis Marion (The Swamp Fox), and other historical figures helped support the church for repairs and begin regular services.
The organ, purchased in 1845, is a unique design with the tone similar to organs used during the Baroque period.
Click, or double tap, to view images in detail from a gallery.